Spring!

“No winter lasts forever. No spring skips its turn.” Hal Borland

Spring is one of my favorite times of year. On my way to work yesterday, I noticed a lawn that had bursted into bloom – crocuses I’m sure – all blue and green. There was a lone crocus in my middle son’s garden, a little limp from the cold night before, but beautiful to see. There were daffodils in a neighbor’s garden.

All these spring flowers and the promise of newness. I am planning my garden and reading books about the great outdoors.

Some of my favorite books about the outdoors: A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson; We Took to the Woods, Louise Dickinson Rich; Woodswoman, Anne LaBastille; The Hidden Life of Trees, Peter Wohlleben.

I’m planning my gardens too. I’ve lived in the Little Yellow House exactly a year now, and after a year of maintenance and getting to know the property, I’m ready to lay more gardens this spring. I had great success with a little herb garden last year, so that will expand. A bed for wild flowers, a bed for cutting flowers, a bed for vegetables, some beds around the house and garage. Lights and furniture and doors to paint. Lawn to mow.

One of my favorite gardeners is the Empress of Dirt. I love the picture of her yard on the front of her blog. It is my goal. She is an inspiration to me as I try to shape my empty yard into a lush, productive garden.

Think spring thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

