Winter Has Arrived

img_1573
Wicker Chair and Herb Garden in Snow

I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says, “Go to sleep darlings, till the summer comes again”.                                              Lewis Carroll

Snow blanketed my little corner of Ohio this past week. It was so pretty. My wicker chair next to my herb garden filled up quickly with snow. I sent the picture to my youngest son who lives in California, where the temperatures were in the 60s. He said “I miss weather.” It always makes me smile to hear him say that. When he visited Ohio the first time last year with his new girlfriend, they were both excited when a thunderstorm rolled through our area one night. She grew up in California, so my son’s stories of thunderstorms, tornadoes, and blizzards that close schools for a week are fun for her.

I like weather. Most of the time. What I like the most about winter are warm blankets, movies on the couch with my cat, and watching the snow fall from my big living room window, and an occasional hike in a snowy wood. And candles that smell like cider or evergreen.

What I like the least is getting out at 7 a.m. to drive to work.

The seasons in Ohio provide those of us who live here some nice variety, that’s for sure. We can garden and hike and bike and boat in the spring and summer and really into the fall, and then we can hibernate or ski or sled or go for nippy hikes in a snow covered wood for a few months while the snow flies. And who doesn’t like a white Christmas?

Once the holiday season is over though, I’m ready for spring. I like to plan my garden all winter long while I wait for warmer weather, which is what I’ll be doing in a couple of weeks, right after the holidays. Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

